SC Dismisses Plea of Cong-JD(S) MLAs on Disqualification


Nov. 13/11 – The Supreme Court dismissed the plea of 17 MLAs jointly from Congress and JD(S) from Karnataka challenging the decision of assembly speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar to disqualify them. However, the court allowed these disqualified legislators to contest polls by rejecting Kumar’s decision to do so. 

In July, as many as 17 MLAs had turned rebel and tendered their resignations to the speaker, which consequently toppled the coalition government between JD(s) and Congress and paved way for BJP to form government in the state. 

Then Kumar not only accepted their resignations but disqualified them with an order that they cannot contest bypolls. To challenge his decision, the dissents moved to the Apex court. 

The nomination process for the bypolls in 15 out of the 17 constituencies has been started from Monday. All the three major parties — BJP, Congress and JD(s) — are yet to announce their candidates. The election is scheduled to be held on December 5. To retain in power, B.S. Yediyurappa-led BJP government has to win at least 8 of the 15 seats. 


About Author

Leave A Reply